Lie detector

October 3, 2012 at 12:45 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,
Heads you win, tails I lose.

Heads you win, tails I lose.

When I was a kid, I went to a Tandy electronics store.

I wanted a metal detector.

I’d seen blokes on the beach at sunset, finding coins and lighters and watches and rings.

With my pocket money fixed at only 20 cents a week, I was keen to create another, better income stream.

The Tandy man showed me two units.

The $24.95 silver one had a needle meter to indicate finds.

The $9.95 orange one merely blatted a tone.

The man assured me the cheaper one would suit my purpose.

He then reported that on the previous weekend, he’d used the same model to unearth hundreds of dollars of treasures from the very beach I planned to prospect.

I believed him and bought the unit.

Despite disappointing backyard trials, I took a bus to the city and a tram to the beach.

Perhaps the device would work better over sand.

During the next two hours, I found a large house key and a ten-cent piece.

Then the (expensive) nine-volt battery gave out.

Disillusioned, I returned to the Tandy store.

The man refused to return my money, citing poor technique on my part.

He scattered some coins on the carpet and used his display unit to quickly locate them.

I had no comeback.

Much later, I learnt that the successful detectors I’d seen in action cost thousands of dollars.

While I can’t prove that the Tandy man lied to me about his littoral prowess,

I strongly suspect he did.

One doesn’t see Tandy stores any more.

:|

Brought to you by The Feisty Empire.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. They were all the rage for a few summers, weren’t they? The richer kids at my school brought theirs in occasionally. Of course, I feigned disinterest; but they, with the appropriate technology to hand, saw right through me. Well, a lie detector test by another name, for sure. I like this blog idea of years. As a rabid fan of your oeuvre, I shall subscribe with interest. :-)

    • You are so funny, Ad! And damn supportive. I don’t think I’ll ever quite convey how much your readership buoys me. Thank you. :)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

