Death on a tram

January 25, 2013 at 1:12 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 8 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,
Death on a tram

Ding! Ding!

Three years ago I saw Death on a tram.

True dinks.

I was waiting to turn right into Cotham Road, Kew.

She was taking the 109 to

the Box Hill

terminus.

I was surprised by her gender; Death is invariably portrayed as male.

But, as a former Equal Employment Opportunity officer, I thought,

‘Why the hell not?!’

She was old, but well preserved.

She seemed quite … fit.

It looked like she’d just had her wispy halo of hair done.

She sat, looking ahead, on the left side of the tram.

Feeling my gaze, she turned and stared right through my windscreen.

Transfixed, I saw the sockets behind her eyes,

then the skull beneath her flesh.

It was Death alright.

For a second I thought she might be coming for me.

‘Don’t worry’, she spoke to my mind.

‘My client’s in Balwyn.’

‘I’ll see you later.’

Then she looked ahead again.

The lights changed.

The tram’s bell rang.

And away she went.

And that was the day I saw Death.

😐

Brought to you by The Feisty Empire and Imagine Day the book.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Nicely done. A little scary … 😐

    • Thank you, Ad. So nice of you and Jas to sign up so soon. Scary? I hope so. I figure it comes with the territory. A somewhat lighter Beanie Babies post impends. Stay tuned! P. 🙂

  2. Weave the Beanie Babies in with the tram hag. Then I’ll be impressed. 🙂

    • That’s what Random House said when I submitted my novel! If only I’d listened … 🙂

  3. One wonders how the minions at Random House find it anew every morning?

    • Yes. One would think that’d be the azimuth of their careers. Perhaps they moonlight in dime novels.

  4. I’ve been on a few trams that smell like death. That explains it. I love your writing style!

    • Hello, WLBB! I greatly appreciate your comment. I recall dining at length with you in a McDonald’s faux tram many moons ago. By the time we left, the light was positively jaded from the pickles flung against the windows. Happy times … 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

