Bench pressed

October 9, 2016 at 9:31 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

acd8f5bf5f5fa2b13618aee40f4fb26d

I was very, very, very sad.

I bought some beer and resolved to reflect quietly on life, in a park of my youth, near the home of my family, who are now all dead.

It was twilight.

I approached the park carefully,  so as not to startle anyone else who might be reflecting.

I ended up startling two people.

The first was myself.

I wasn’t alone.

The second person was a young man doing severe-looking, crunch-type sit-ups on the park’s bench.

I immediately apologised, thinking his six-pack was as far from mine as one could possibly get.

The man – way less than half my age – said nothing.

I said, ‘Sorry, Mate; I was here 40 years ago. And I was just … coming back.’

As if that meant anything.

As if it would help.

He continued to say nothing, and gave no indication that my need for the bench transcended his.

I retreated (as is my way) and stumbled into the gloom – apologising all the while.

In the process, I dropped my glasses.

They say you can never go back.

I can tell you it’s true.

Metaphorically and physically.

The only way is

forward.

The trick is

to find the right

path.

Further listening: https://radio.abc.net.au/programitem/pe0D49kOW3?play=true

Pic by unknown but extremely keen to give credit.


If you found this post interesting or useful, you may wish to:

Your smallest kindness will keep me going strong. With many thanks, Paul.


2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Beer transcends sit ups any day. You had dibs on that bench from 50 years ago. Doesn’t he know who you are?

    • Thank you, M. I hadn’t thought of it that way. I should’ve challenged him to a ‘story-off’ about that park and its history. I would’ve slayed him – glasses or no. Kind regards, P.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

