Night stalker

January 6, 2017 at 6:17 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

There are female screams in the night.

The like of which I’ve never heard.

I put down my book, turn off the light and strain to listen.

(Is this not what I paid for?)

The strange, strangled ululations seem without end.

Why do staff take so long to attend?

Or have they arrived, only to face some primordial force beyond their control?

The more I think about it, the weirder it seems.

I ask the next nurse who checks on me and she says,

‘You should be pretty safe in here.’

Yet we don’t get banshee caterwauls like this at home.

The longer I ponder, the more possibilities emerge from the gloom.

Is my neighbouring inmate watching a horror film?

Heaps of people like that sort of thing.

Could he simply be viewing the news?

Today’s monstrous bulletins seem bereft of censorship.

In which case,

would I actually be safer beyond these walls?

Still troubled, I ask my wife on her next visit.

She points to a laminated map of the complex:

an adjoining ward deals in maternity.

And with her unerring good sense,

she cuts my twisted logic in a trice.


If you found this post useful or entertaining, you may wish to:

Your smallest kindness will keep me going strong. With many thanks, Paul.


2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Do they still scream in maternity wards… I thought it was a thing of the past but of course its been 40 years or so since I was last in one for productive reasons.

    • Thanks to modern medicine, I think screaming has been optional for a while. But I hear it’s making a comeback in some circles. While I’ve got you Winno, please accept my humblest thanks – both for your contribution, and your contribution. I’m a mighty lucky chap. Best regards, P.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

