Kebub

January 15, 2017 at 7:28 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

This is my first memory (so far) so feel free to skip it.

I’m lying on my back in a small bedroom in suburban Melbourne.

Beneath me the white, relatively rough toweling of a many-times-washed nappy.

Not one of today’s supermarket disposables.

An old, analogue version.

The type that began square and was somehow folded to approximate an infant’s pelvis.

With wrapping done, there remained the task of fastening.

For this there were enormous (to me) ‘safety’ pins – likely made in England.

Long, strong and sharp: to penetrate the many folds.

The ‘safety’ bit was a (baby blue) metal cap that slid over the workings once each pin was in place.

I don’t recall this device malfunctioning, but I feared it doing so.

I do recall strong fingers simultaneously holding a stacked fabric corner and striving to penetrate all layers without ‘overshooting’.

I remember worrying that it may be tricky to arrest a pin’s progress into my flesh should it pass through warp and weft with unexpected alacrity or ease.

I also recall two types of strong fingers wielding these fasteners.

This may be a manufactured memory.

Nor, of course, did I possess any descriptors.

The first type of strength was my mother’s.

Skilled. Determined. Busy. Efficient.

The second type was my father’s.

Coarse. Hurried. Annoyed. Not to be bested.

I feared both kinds of force – lest I be pinned to the bed.

But the first kind, less so.

I was thus much relieved when the ultimate pin withdrew,

freeing me for new

(though not always exciting)

experiences.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Can you really remember back that far Paul? You must have been about 12 months I reckon. My first memories I reckon date from maybe about age 3 or 4. Wonder from what age other people can remember.

    • Hi, Winno. I totally accept the malleability of memory. But this one has stayed with me all my life and intruded upon my thoughts from time to time. Hence my attempt to ‘shelve’ it and move forward. I don’t deny I may be wrong. But if I were, I’d probably ‘remember’ the pins going right through the floorboards! That’d surely get a few more page views than this relatively banal version. I’m very keen to know what you and others consider their first memory. With kind regards and many thanks for your excellent … point. P.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

